Review: Sword Art Online II, Episode 6: Duel in the Wastelands

Review:

Well, it turns out Kirito isn’t unshakable after all. After his run-in with another SAO survivor from the previous episode, he seems to be quite disturbed. The reason may very well have to do with the raid he took part in during the days of SAO, which we get to see via flashback. As you already know (at least, you should if you’ve watched last week’s episode, and if you haven’t then why are you reading this review), Death Gun is part of the Laughing Coffin guild, which was the guild of murderers in SAO. Clearly, Death Gun has not left those days behind, as we have already seen in GGO.

This is one of those reviews where I find myself at a loss for words. Did I enjoy the episode? Sure. Did it leave much of an impact? Not really. If you like action, then you can expect to see plenty of it in this episode, and we are already treated to a Kirito versus Sinon scene, which I honestly didn’t expect to see so early in the series. Of course, with Kirito so shaken up, it doesn’t end up being much of a fight (though it may not go the way you’re thinking after that statement). Overall, if you feel like Kirito is an over-powered character, then this isn’t the episode to change your mind. If you’re simply a fan of SAO in general, then I don’t think there’s anything here to dislike.

A Christian Perspective:

Well, the best I was able to come up with centers on this verse:

Colossians 3:23 – Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters,

While Kirito certainly had some extenuating circumstances going on, the fact of the matter is that he ultimately offended Sinon with his flippant attitude about their fight. In his fear, he forgot the promise that he had made to her earlier, and essentially states that he’s only concerned with getting to the finals. While he ultimately makes it up to her, the point here is that he upset her because he didn’t go at it with all his heart. Now replace Sinon with God, and imagine how upset He would be (and is) if (when) we take a flippant attitude with the life and things He has given us. I know I’m guilty of it on a daily basis. I tell myself that I have a great witnessing opportunity because I work in a college, and deal with a lot of students. I tell myself that, with the right attitude, I can show the love of Christ. However, I get to work, and I simply start counting down the hours until I get off. I may start out with a cheery demeanor, but eventually I allow myself to get run down and just start going through the motions. Perhaps I make God feel kind of like how Sinon felt, aggravated that I failed to keep what I intended to keep.

Content Guide:

Language: None

Alcohol/Drug Use: None

Nudity/Sex/Fanservice: Just Sinon’s outfit

Violence: Flashback to a fight in SAO where players are killed–lots of sword play and whatnot; the usual GGO violence of gunfire, an explosion, and of course Kirito’s sword play

Blood/Gore: Just the red marks that appear on characters when they’re wounded

2 thoughts on “Review: Sword Art Online II, Episode 6: Duel in the Wastelands

  1. Pingback: Something More: Forgiving Kirito’s Sin, Real Barakamon Church, and Hamatora’s Anti-Christ |

  2. Pingback: Something More: Forgiving Kirito's Sin, Real Barakamon Church, and Hamatora's Anti-Christ | Beneath the Tangles

Leave a comment