Review: The Kawai Complex Guide to Manors and Hostel Behavior, Episode 6: Could It Be

Review:

Seriously, this show keeps doing stuff to make me wonder why I even bother, and then it manages to throw a curveball that makes me want to stay. This episode is a perfect example, as it is rife with innuendo and jokes about Shiro being a pedophile. Stuff like that really makes me question if I should even be watching this show as a Christian, and it certainly doesn’t give me much desire to stick with the show. But then, as usual, the episode takes a turn that does make it seem more worthwhile. It drags me back and forth, and I really don’t know what to do with it.

To be fair, the Shiro as a pedophile joke is nothing new. We know that he isn’t one, but it’s still a running joke (kind of like the male lead in Working!), although this time around they certainly tease the joke out more by having an elementary (?) school girl confess that she’s in love with him. As previously mentioned, the episode starts out with it’s typical innuendoes and jokes, but eventually gets a little more serious as it deals with themes of friendship, exclusion, and reconciliation. I’d like to say that the show ends up redeeming itself in my eyes, but I don’t think that would really be correct. I think it’s more that I’m torn, and the fact that a part of me wants to keep watching (I’d like to see where Usa and Ritsu’s relationship goes, at least) latches on to this moments that actually give the show some character. There are likeable characters here—and maybe even a decent lesson or two—that are sadly buried under innuendos, sadist jokes, and the occasional mild fanservice.

A Christian Perspective:

Ephesians 4:26 states, “In your anger do not sin”: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, (NIV), and I think that verse is applicable in this case. Without getting into spoiler territory, a character in this episode gets into a bit of a bad spot with her friends because of an outburst of anger. While it turns out that her friends aren’t really “angry” with her, and that she feels bad about her angry outburst, there fails to be reconciliation. So while the sun may not be going down on their anger in the sense that they’re still angry at each other, they did fail to reconcile their relationship before the sun went down, which lead to a longer period of isolation than if the character in question would have simply apologized for her outburst. Maybe this isn’t the best verse for this lesson, but I think you get the point: if someone offends you, or you offend someone, then make up with them ASAP, or else you might have to depend on a house of weirdos to help you reconcile your friendship!

Content Guide (I honestly have a bit of a hard time believing this was all there was, but it’s been almost a week, and obviously my guide went to the end of the episode, as there is a note about the preview):

Language: None

Alcohol/Drug Use: None

Nudity/Sex/Fanservice: There’s a close up of Mayumi where you can see her cleavage, and when she moves her arm one of her breasts bounce (she’s clothed) 10:13 – 10:18; a scene in the preview shows Shiro’s face pressed into a woman’s breast 23:49 – 23:50; I didn’t note this in the initial writing, but Mayumi is probably showing cleavage throughout most of the episode (I mean, it’s basically par for the course, so it’s a fair assumption)

Violence: None

Blood/Gore: None

Leave a Reply

