Review: Golden Time, Episode 23: Last Smile

Review:

At least we finally have an answer as to why Koko did what she did. I wonder how different things in this show would be, though, if the characters would just, oh I don’t know, sit down and talk about their problems instead of taking drastic measures? Well, whatever the case, I’m really just trying to have something dramatic to say, because the only thing I didn’t like about this episode was basically the plot direction, and that, of course, is because it’s not exactly moving towards what I would like to see. In other words, it was enjoyable. It was entertaining. It just wasn’t what I hoped to see, but that doesn’t make it bad, not even in my eyes. It’s just one of those “Oh, come on!” moments.

I had actually gotten myself to the point of expecting a twenty-six episode series, so the fact that it’s ending at twenty-four got me. I know, I know, no one to blame but myself. This episode does do a good job at preparing us, though, as relationship threads are tied up, motives explained, and relationships restored. Even Banri seems to eventually find some kind of peace with everything that’s happening. The only ones left without peace are, well, us–the viewers. I suspect that we won’t have peace until next week, and even then it will probably depend on how the show ends.

In thinking about it, Koko may very well be stronger than most people give her credit for. When you see what she’s going through in this episode–and the proximity she’s willing to keep to Banri despite that–there is certainly some kind of strength there that hasn’t been explored before. Even though she broke up with him, she doesn’t run away from him, no matter how much it hurts. I’m really hoping this will have a happy ending for our couple.

A Christian Perspective:

Eh, nothing to say here, really. Banri gets punched in the head once, and there is a brief flashback to Koko in her bikini top. Other than that, the content was clean, although dramatic.

Content Guide:

Language: None

Alcohol/Drug Use: None

Nudity/Sex/Fanservice: There is a brief shot of Koko in a bikini top

Violence: A character is punched in the head

Blood/Gore: None

Leave a Reply

