A Plea for Help

Okay, so the title might be a bit dramatic. What I’m looking for is someone who knows how to design wordpress blogs. I would like to add more sections to the blog so that people can actually have sorting options for entries. Ideally, I’d like to have an “Anime” tab with drop down options to view by season or by title, with the season page linking to reviews for a particular season (obviously). For example, I’d like users to be able to hover over the “Anime” tab and receive a drop down menu with “By Season” and “By Title”. If they clicked on the “By Season” option, then they’d be taken to a page with options like “Fall 2013” and “Winter 2014”, which would lead to all reviews for those seasons. The “By Title” option, of course, would be a list of all titles reviewed, with each title linking to its respective blog posts. I’d also like to create another tab called “Faith”, as I’d like to start writing what I’m going to call “Faith Articles” from time to time. Obviously, I’d like to be able to share these on the main page and also filter them out to their own category so that they don’t get lost in the mix of things. Help me out, please?

Also, I would love to have some artwork for this place to make it less plain. If you or anyone you know would be willing to do some art for me (hopefully on the cheaper side of things, as I’m not exactly loaded), then please drop me a line.

2 thoughts on “A Plea for Help

  1. TWWK

    It’s easy enough to do this if you have a theme that allows for it. I think I have something similar to what you want, for instance, on my blog. And actually, even this theme may have the option.

    I’m thinking you could do this in a couple of ways. First, by tagging: Tag all posts for each season (ex. “Winter 2014” for Winter 2014 posts). You would then be able to access all of these by a certain link (christiananimereview.wordpress.com/tag/winter-2014, I think?). Then, when you create your menus (more below), you’ll have the tab for Winter 2014 pointing toward that link. You would also have each anime series tab point to the tag link for that series (ex. christiananimereview.wordpress.com/tag/golden-time).

    Secondly, you could create a page that includes links to every series you’ve reviewed. Have your menu tab point to it.

    To access the Menus, go to Appearance > Menus on your dashboard. Create a custom menu. To have that hover effect, you would stagger one menu under another.

    Mess around with it. I think you’ll figure it out. Email me or gchat me if you have specific questions.

    Reply
  2. rmiller1656 Post author

    Sweet, thank you. I know I’d asked you over Twitter about this in the past, but it helps to have a more written out description. In some ways, I am fairly computer literate. In other things, I’m dumb as a doornail. I did study web site design as part of my final project for my graduate degree, but that was almost 3 years ago, and I haven’t really used those skills since. ^^; Thank you for the input–those links you suggested do work. One other question, though: how do I insert a hyperlink into the body of a post/page? I’ve tried to do it with posts before, and couldn’t figure it out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

