Review: Love, Chunibyo, and Other Delusions! Ren, Episode 4: Queen Maker

Review:

I want to know where these kids get their imaginations, because what they have is better than anything I’ve ever managed. Literally breaking into tears because your friend dons her fictitious persona again? That takes some serious commitment to your character.

Anyway, I don’t know the full extent of the rivalry between Dekomori and Nibutani, outside of the fact that Nibutani’s delusion used to be “Mori Summer”, whom Deko seems to have an interest in, and whom Deko thinks Nibutani is impersonating, hence the constant skirmishes between the two. This episode continues that trend, as Nibutani begins her bid for student council president, and Dekomori sets out to ruin her aspirations. The twist, of course, comes when Nibutani’s greatest enemy becomes her greatest ally.

This episode was fairly amusing, as a whole, though I don’t think it did much for the show’s overall plot (does this even have a plot?). There were plenty of funny moments, as the Nibutani/Dekomori war always seems to bring them. Beyond that… I don’t have much to say. It was just an amusing episode, and the ending was kind of… painful. I’m honestly not sure if a certain character got what they deserved or not.

A Christian Perspective:

There was some slapstick violence, which is probably to be expected at this point. Honestly, the worst thing in this episode is that Sophia declares something “on Satan’s name”, which is… a bit uncomfortable, I think. There is, of course, the possibility that the Japanese don’t know the weight of what they’re saying there, but it doesn’t change the fact that it’s uncomfortable for a Christian. As usual, I won’t tell you what to do here, as I’m not really sure how to handle it myself. Is it something worth dropping the show over? Is it a bad choice of dialogue? Should we just chalk it up to the absurd delusions of the character combined with the Japanese peoples’ lack of knowledge of Christianity?

Content Guide:

Language: None

Alcohol/Drug Use: None

Nudity/Sex/Fanservice: None

Violence: a character has a wire wrapped around her neck and is pulled into another character, which results in the two characters headbutting; a character is kneed in the face twice and kicked in the head; a character is being held in some kind of wrestling(?) move; a character’s hair is pulled; character punches a wall; a character is grabbed by the face

Blood/Gore: None

Other: Sophia declares something “on Satan’s name”… yeah…

3 thoughts on “Review: Love, Chunibyo, and Other Delusions! Ren, Episode 4: Queen Maker

  1. Satan

    I happened to stumble upon this site whilst surfing the web and I must say, as a Christian, I am horribly disappointed with this review. Not that it was terrible or anything but seriously, complaining about them saying Satan? What is this the 1300s? I had hoped that Christians of this generation were at least a little more understanding that the world today is corrupt as fuck. Oh my gosh golly I used a curse word. I’m sure that the people who made this anime perfectly understood that gravity of what they were saying, because saying Satan or “in the name of Satan” is not all that bad. You act like it is saying Voldemort to Harry Potter. I apologize if I seem harsh or furious, but as an avid anime watcher and a huuuuuuge fan of Chuunibyou, I became quite enraged when you suggested that them saying Satan might be worthy of dropping the anime. I understand if you are like a hardcore Christian and it is your right to post reviews like this and I’m sure others feel the same way. I just thought I would share my opinion on your messed up review. Thank you for your time.

    Reply
    1. rmiller1656 Post author

      Thank you for taking the time to comment! When I take notes on content, I try to be conscious of anything that an anime viewing Christian might find offensive. To some people, it may seem absurd to include certain things (such as your reaction in this case), but I would rather include too much information than not enough information. I never said “drop the show”; I posed it as a question. For most, probably not. But for someone else? Who knows. I’d suggest giving Romans 14 a read through. Yes, it talks about our freedom in areas that aren’t clearly defined, but it also talks about our responsibility to brothers and sisters in Christ who are “weaker”. We are not to put stumbling blocks in their paths. Therefore, I would rather include any and all information that I could possibly see offending a Christian, rather than omit information that may have been useful to someone. Not everything I take note of is something that I personally take offense to. Violent content, for example, doesn’t tend to bother me, but I know some Christians are opposed to it. I never said I was dropping Chunibyo. Are there things about it that have made me uneasy? Sure, just read my other reviews. Have I dropped it yet? Nope, because I still find it enjoyable, and unless they hit me with something that really makes me uncomfortable, I will most likely follow it until the end, and then possibly go back and watch season one.

      I hope that helps to clear things up.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Something More: V-Day Chocolates for Anime Jesus, Hell in Hoozuki no Reitetsu, and Yuri for Christians |

Leave a Reply

