Review: Pupa, Episode 1: I Wish It Was All A Dream

Review:

How did I manage to queue up two shorts without realizing it? Well, here’s my stab at it. Pupa introduces us to Utsutsu and his little sister Yume. I knew this was supposed to be a horror series going into it, and I’d read a bit about it on Wikipedia, so I had a general idea of what it was about. I didn’t know it was only going to be four minutes long, though.

So Utsutsu is supposed to meet Yume at a park so they can walk home together. On her way to the park, Yume comes across a woman who tells her to go home before she sees the red butterflies. Now, I don’t know about you, but I’ve watched enough movies and television shows to know that when you get a cryptic warning, you should probably take it. But that wouldn’t leave us with much of a story. I’ll stop there because if I say much more then there won’t be any point in even watching this, which brings us to the point of whether it’s worth watching.

In all honesty, I don’t know. The artwork for it is kind of strange, and the whole thing didn’t particularly grip me. Admittedly, I am curious to see how Utsutusu will react to the ending events, but at the same time I don’t feel any driving urge to continue with it, either. Shorts can certainly grip you and provide you with story, despite their limited time span. I remember watching Encouragement of Climb in its entirety and enjoying it. This… eh, not so much. Check it out if you’d like. I may come back for episode 2—I mean, if it follows suit with episode 1 then it is only four minutes—but we’ll see.

A Christian Perspective:

Well, in a four minute time span we see a brief shot of a naked woman (non-explicit) during the intro, a few violent scenes, and blood. This is a horror series, so let’s start from there. If you do not like horror and/or are of the opinion that Christians shouldn’t watch horror, then just walk away from this one. If you are okay with horror, then I think you need to ask yourself what your line is. Honestly, while there was a decent spray of blood, I wouldn’t exactly call it graphic. I don’t even know if the art style of this show would really accommodate graphic violence/blood/gore. At this point, I can’t really see much that would be edifying about this show, but with so little to go on, it’s really hard to make any kind of definitive moral judgment about it.

Content Guide:


Language:
None

Alcohol/Drug Use:
None

Nudity/Sex/Fanservice: The intro shows a painting of a naked woman (non-explicit)

Violence:
Some sort of thing comes out of a dog and attacks a girl; a little girl is slapped and knocked to the ground; something impales a girl

Blood/Gore:
a large amount of blood is shown spraying from a girl’s chest; a monster is shown with blood dripping from its mouth; blood is shown on a girl in the ending

2 thoughts on “Review: Pupa, Episode 1: I Wish It Was All A Dream

  1. Pingback: Something More: Pupa for Christians, Religion in Inari Konkon Koi Iroha, and Adventure Time at the Sisteen Chapel |

  2. Pingback: Something More: Pupa for Christians, Religion in Inari Konkon Koi Iroha, and Adventure Time at the Sisteen Chapel | Beneath the Tangles

Leave a Reply

