Review: Golden Time, Episode 13: Summer Has Come

It’s baaaaack! Well, since I’m staring this blog in the Winter 2014 season (despite having written reviews for three fall 2013 shows, plus Golden Time), I guess you wouldn’t know that I enjoy Golden Time. Anyway, episode 13 begins quite light-heartedly, quite a difference from the end of its predecessor. Well, maybe episode 12 didn’t end with an overly-dramatic ending, but there is still a noticeable difference here. There seems to be no tension between Banri, Koko, and Linda.

I honestly want to do my best to not actually spoil anything in my reviews. The problem with that is that it makes it hard to, well, review the episode! I guess what I can say is that I don’t really have any major complaints with this one. It was funny at parts (see: Koko and the Awa dance festival), and cute at others (see: Koko cooking),  yet there was definitely an underlying tension (see: Ghost Banri). All-in-all, I think you could call this episode a “calm before the storm”.  Even the intro and outro seem to reflect a different mood. At the very least, we no longer have a barrage of lovey-dovey scenes between Banri and Koko. Honestly, I hope the end result is KokoxBanri. While there was a time where I think I was kind of pulling for Linda, I wouldn’t say that now.

So that’s about it. There really isn’t a lot of “action” in this episode, but there does seem to be a lot of set up. Ghost Banri’s declaration, Koko’s summer plans, and Banri’s hesitation to… well, you’ll see. Where will Golden Time go from here? I look forward to finding out.

A Christian Perspective

Honestly, there’s not much to say here. The worst thing is probably Ghost Banri determining to become an evil spirit and curse real Banri. Beyond that, there is a brief scene of violence and some blood. All-in-all, unless you are not a fan of supernatural plot elements (which means you probably would have stopped watching when Ghost Banri was first introduced), I don’t think you’ll have much to worry about in this episode.

Content Guide:

Language: None

Alcohol/Drug Use: None

Nudity/Sex/Fanservice: In the previews, Koko is shown wearing a very skimpy bikini top, and later a one piece bathing suit that shows cleavage

Violence: a character is punched in the face

Blood/Gore: In a flashback to Banri’s accident, we see blood under Banri’s head; a character gets punched in the face and a bit of blood comes from his nose

Other: Ghost Banri swears to become an evil spirit and curse Banri, after which bad things begin to happen

Leave a Reply

